With Mississippi enacting its own data breach notification law on April 7, Alabama, Kentucky, New Mexico, and South Dakota remain the only states without such a law. Mississippi Gov. Haley Barbour signed H.B. 583 making his state the 46th to enact a breach notification law. The law becomes effective July 1, 2011.

Like many breach